Prepare Every Needful Thing

"If ye are prepared, ye shall not fear"

Spiritual Preparedness–April 2014

Leave a comment

Peace Through the Atonement

christ-in-garden-of-gethsemane-heinrich-hofmann-

After hearing the Savior’s sermon given in the sixth chapter of John, some followers abandoned their discipleship. They left feeling that some doctrines Jesus taught were too hard. Jesus turned to Peter and asked, ”Will ye also go away?” Peter then answered, ”Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life.” Peter had learned that truth and peace come only through the Savior. But, there are those who try always to find an easier way. The scriptures give many accounts of the consequences of man’s worldly solutions for life. Contained in these solutions are all of Satan’s promises, temptations, and rationalizations. However, “There is no peace, saith my God, to the wicked” (Isaiah 57:21).

Alma the younger described the contrast that he felt in his soul as he first followed Satan, then turned to the truths of the gospel. “I was like to be cast off…. I was in the darkest abyss…. My soul was racked with eternal torment” (Mosiah 27:27,29).Then when he thought of Jesus Christ and his Atonement he received the peace that he so desperately yearned for: “While I was harrowed up by the memory of my many sins, behold, I remembered also to have heard my father prophesy unto the people concerning the coming of one Jesus Christ, a Son of God, to atone for the sins of the world. Now, as my mind caught hold upon this thought, I cried within my heart: O Jesus, thou Son of God, have mercy on me…. And now, behold, when I thought this, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more. And oh, what joy, and what marvelous light I did behold; yea, my soul was filled with joy as exceeding as was my pain!” (Alma 36:17-20).

Whether in Book of Mormon times or in our own time, the answer to obtaining peace of mind is the same. We need to understand and utilize the Atonement of Jesus Christ. “Learn of me, and listen to my words….and you shall have peace in me.”(D&C 19:23). He is “the founder of peace” (Mosiah 15:18) and the “Prince of Peace”(Isaiah 9:6).

Elder Tad R. Callister wrote, “During the last supper the Lord put it all in perspective: “In me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world” (John 16:33). One marvels how on this occasion the Lord could invite “good cheer” when, seemingly, only dark clouds loomed ahead. Gethsemane was imminent. Judas’ betrayal was on the horizon. Peter’s denial was forthcoming. There was the mockery of a pseudo-trial, the haunting chant of those whom he had come to save–”Crucify him, crucify him!”– and finally, Calvary itself. All this lay ahead, and yet he could say, “Be of good cheer.” Why? Because he would overcome the world; he would descend beneath it all. He would make it possible for every person of every age to overcome every obstacle, every weakness, every sin, and every tinge of guilt. Because of the Savior’s sacrifice, Alma’s experience may be relived by each of us: “I did cry out unto the Lord Jesus Christ for mercy…. and I did find peace to my soul”. (Alma 38:8).”

 

 

Leave a Reply

